Author Topic: T2HL  (Read 9900 times)

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
T2HL
« on: February 27, 2013, 03:39:12 AM »
Greetings everyone :)
My name is Norman, and I am a newbie in this forum. this is my first posting.
I just got a brand new Randall T2HL with RS 4x12 XJ. Has anyone try it or own it? It sounds great and it's very versatile.
My question is, can I just use it for recording by using its XLR output in the back, without connecting it to the cabs? will I damage it?
Thank you!
Randall user and abuser

Offline DaveFSJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • MOTOROACH
Re: T2HL
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 07:58:15 AM »
Ive heard of people damaging amps this way before so Im reluctant to do it, but I dont know with the Randall
I have the Mic outputs on my cab so I use them
Randall T2
Randall RA412XL
Fender Mustang III
Fender Telecaster HH Spalted Maple
Dean Dimebag FBD
Presonus 44VSL & Studio One

Offline bustup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2013, 08:30:27 PM »
I personally never run any amp without having a speaker load attached to it. The only exception being if I'm too drunk to realize it.

Purely solid state amps can truly take a beating. I have accidentally plugged things into my solid state amps in all kinds of wrong ways, and they always come out just fine whenever I finally get it right. However, in saying that, I do not mean to in any way condone plugging things in like an a##hole.

Tube amps on the other give you one chance to get everything plugged in properly. If you mess it up, then you are either replacing a fuse, or worse a resistor, or even worse the transformer.

Due to the fact that the T2 amp is a hybrid amp with preamp tubes, I wouldn't press your luck. I'd resort to the old rule of thumb to never turn the amp on without having a speaker load attached.

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 01:05:54 PM »
Thank you so much for the reply,,, :)
Randall user and abuser

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: T2HL
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2013, 03:11:13 AM »
If you keep the amp in standby without a load / cabinet / speaker plugged in you can still get a preamp signal from the FX send on the back of the amp. 

This way you can send the preamp signal to your interface for recording, apply some cabinet simulation (impulses) and EQ and play "silently" through your computer.  I got the best results boosting the distortion channel with a tubescreamer when using this method.  I preferred my T2 without a boost when playing through a regular cabinet though.

Btw, the XLR output won't make any sound unless you put the amp in play mode.  You may be able to get away with no load this way but I had no need to do this because the preamp+impulse method using my interface sounds way better than the cabsim on the XLR output.
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2013, 02:12:03 AM »
Thanks Wookieslayer, I will do that on my Diavlo. ;D
There is no STANDBY on T2HL. Too bad, though
Randall user and abuser

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: T2HL
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2013, 03:27:50 AM »
Oh I didn't realize that lol.

Which Diavlo do you have?  Pretty sure it has a built in load, at least the lower wattage heads (check the manual?)
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2013, 11:48:35 PM »
I have RD5 and RD 20. RD 5 has a dummy load. RD20 no dummy load.
I love them all!!!!!!
Randall user and abuser

Offline Junior

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2014, 02:50:30 PM »
hey man, i have the same amp head asy you, so now im looking for appropriate cabinet (box)...you saing that your amp works well through rs 4x12 xj??? need some suggestions, please :)

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2014, 01:04:43 AM »
Yupp,, XJ is great! it's also cheap. If you want the best sound, go with the RD cabinets, they have Celestion Vintage 30 speakers
Randall user and abuser

Offline bustup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2014, 07:45:00 PM »
Yupp,, XJ is great! it's also cheap. If you want the best sound, go with the RD cabinets, they have Celestion Vintage 30 speakers

What kind of speakers are in the xj cab?

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: T2HL
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2014, 04:18:32 AM »
I believe,
 
Quote
   Straight front w/angled baffle
    4 x 12" Custom Eminence Jaguar speakers
    300 Watts RMS
    3/4" Void-free birch
    8 Ohm mono input
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2014, 04:27:46 AM »
Randall user and abuser

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: T2HL
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2014, 01:03:41 AM »
Nice job dude!
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline Normie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: T2HL
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2014, 11:26:54 PM »
thanks brooo :D
Randall user and abuser