Author Topic: V2 Footswitch HELP!  (Read 10804 times)

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
V2 Footswitch HELP!
« on: August 29, 2012, 05:18:54 AM »
I've been searching since december last year for an RF5V2 and cannot find one ANYWHERE!!!

I live in Jersey (Channel Islands) so i'm looking for a UK dealer.
I've contacted my local music shop and they can't get them i've scoured every music shop and be majorly messed around by sites saying they have it only to find its been out of stock with tem for months and i try ebay every week.

Can anyone help???

Thanks!
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline tacklebox455

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 01:26:36 PM »
have you tied emailing randall? they should have some in stock that are left over  if you cant find one may have to have one built
Electric Wizard,Weedeater,High on Fire thats my play list

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2012, 05:42:39 PM »
Do you absolutely have to have the Randall footswitch?  Any 5 pin MIDI footswitch should work, just gotta program the buttons to your channel configuration.  I didn't have the footswitch for my T2 so I picked up a Tech 21 MIDI Mouse second hand for 55 bucks (pretty lucky price) and it works beautifully.  Not only can I assign channels to the various presets but I can program the FX loop or any MIDI effects I have plugged in.  Also even though I have the footswitch for my V2 I'd probably use the MIDI mouse because it has more available presets and could use it for the effects from my rack unit.

Other MIDI boards I was looking at were the Rolls Midibuddy and the Behringer FCB1010, which comes with expression pedals.
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline Gwill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
    • My Band Triaxis!
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2012, 06:55:33 AM »
If you have to have the Randall switch (I use a pod xt for switching and effects but it might not have the right midi capability to activate your graphic and boosts) you might be lucky with emailing www.soundtech.co.uk , the guys I speak to there are cool.
I want all the new amps!!

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2012, 09:57:08 AM »
Thanks for the replies guys, The Tech 21 MIDI Mouse doesn't look like the pedal for me... I'd much rather individual buttons for each channel/fx loop graphic rather than to scroll through presets.

I've emailed Randall in the past but not had any luck, ill try again.
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2012, 10:09:08 AM »
ah wait... i think thats for a keyboard
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2012, 05:39:38 AM »
Understandable, that's why I suggested the Rolls MIDI buddy as well :)

Also the cable I use with my Midi Mouse is a 7 pin, not a 5 my bad!

Oh and there's also the bigger version of the MIDI Mouse, the MIDI MOOSE, lol, but more expensive than the Rolls Midi Buddy...

Thanks for the replies guys, The Tech 21 MIDI Mouse doesn't look like the pedal for me... I'd much rather individual buttons for each channel/fx loop graphic rather than to scroll through presets.

I've emailed Randall in the past but not had any luck, ill try again.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2012, 05:42:17 AM by Wookieslayer »
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2012, 04:08:40 AM »
Understandable, that's why I suggested the Rolls MIDI buddy as well :)

Also the cable I use with my Midi Mouse is a 7 pin, not a 5 my bad!

Oh and there's also the bigger version of the MIDI Mouse, the MIDI MOOSE, lol, but more expensive than the Rolls Midi Buddy...

Thanks for the replies guys, The Tech 21 MIDI Mouse doesn't look like the pedal for me... I'd much rather individual buttons for each channel/fx loop graphic rather than to scroll through presets.

I've emailed Randall in the past but not had any luck, ill try again.

Thanks dude, i'll look into those!
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2012, 02:19:20 AM »
Wow I am a total tard, I was looking at my V2 footswitch cable, which is the 7 pin.  The one I use for the Midi Mouse is indeed a 5 pin, lol.  Cool thing is it's still phantom powered with the 5, so battery or 9v plug required with these amps.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2012, 02:20:55 AM by Wookieslayer »
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2012, 12:08:58 PM »
So I managed to find one!!!!! FINALLY But now sods law it doesnt seem to work...

It's brand new. What happens is I plug the 7 pin cable into the IN on the back of the V2 and absolutly nothing happens no light nothing and it doesnt change any channels.

If i plug it into the THRU on the back of the amp all the lights come on (All red except green clean) this still doesnt change any channels.

Please help!!!!
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2012, 04:07:53 PM »
make sure to plug it into the IN slot when the amp is turned off.  then turn on the amp... otherwise I dunno, maybe try a different cable?
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon

Offline hamtheman222

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2013, 09:26:01 AM »
Turns out the MIDI IN on the amp was F***ed!!! Managed to get it fixed and re valved it at the same time!

It now sounds HUGE and I can channel switch with ease!

Thanks for all your help guys!!!
Randall V2
Marshall MF350
Marshall JVM 410H
Peavey 6505 +
Marshall MF400 4x12

Offline Wookieslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • My band's facebook
Re: V2 Footswitch HELP!
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2013, 02:53:34 PM »
good to hear you got it sorted out  8)

what tubes did you put in it?
Randall V2 / Titan
RS412XLT100
ISP Decimator, Tech 21 Midi Mouse, Alesis Midiverb III
Schecter Omen 6, BC Rich Jr V Icon